Profile image for elsawill

Not sure if I can keep it up but I have given up chocolate for Lent.
That's galaxy, choclate peanuts and oh my goodness choclate finger biscuits!
Wish me luck and roll on Easter
Anyone else giving up something for Lent?

By elsawill at 20:35 on 25/02/12

Re-post           

• Profile image for Homebird1990

Dear Cleethorpes Community!

I have been reading a few of your posts and it is really heartening to see a local community so actively engaged in discussion and debate on the places and spaces they live and occupy. If you are interested in a dialogue about where you live and what you'd like to see there, please read on, if not, no worries.

I am a third year architecture student at the University of Sheffield and I am currently looking at designing a building of a facilitatory nature in Cleethorpes.

A facilitatory space for the community, and a facility to re-engage with the with the perhaps currently abstracted and intangible route for regeneration in your area.

Of course, I could not design such a building without an active understanding of what your community would requires, and desires. I would love to speak to some of you and with your participation, aim to use your opinions and perceptions as an integral driver for the project.

The area I am looking at is adjacent to the gardens and directly opposite Dolphin Gardens on Alexandra Road. I am currently exploring the design of a small scale intervention where tourists and residents alike collide and engage with one another.

Where your help is needed is simply in your opinions, speculations and thoughts on this area as it stands, to see what you would like to see and what you think this site needs, in a short questionnaire.

The results would be used in graphic illustrations, and the consequent project I would be delighted to share with you to continue a conversation about the wider issue of regeneration and the closer look at the area around the site.